Crawford Named to Borlaug Committee

General News   12-02-2011

 Jerry Crawford was named to the Norman Borlaug Committee.  Borlaug’s work in plant breeding led to unprecedented increases in food production and helped avert famine around the world. His success is believed to have saved up to a billion people from starvation. Borlaug was the recipient of the Nobel Peace Prize, a Presidential Medal of Freedom and the Congressional Gold Medal.  The Borlaug Committee was established in March 2011 when the state legislature passed and Gov. Terry Branstad signed House Joint Resolution 16, which provided for the creation and placement of a statue of Borlaug in the U.S. Capitol Building as one of two statues of notable Iowa citizens. The Borlaug statue will replace a statue of Sen. James Harlan. The other statue is of Gov. Samuel Kirkwood.