Energy Win NBA D-League Title

General News   05-02-2011

The Iowa Energy won its first ever NBA D-League Championship with a spirited 119-111 victor over the Rio Grande Vipers last Friday at the Wells Fargo Arena.  The energized crowd of 10,000 helped spark the Energy to eleven unanswered points to start the fourth quarter erasing a 7-point Viper lead.  Defense, rebounding and hustle allowed the Energy to put the game out of reach as the final seconds ticked away.  Stefhon Hannah scored a team high 31 points in the winning effort.  The victory provided the State Iowa its first professional sports title since 1993, prompting managing owner Jerry Crawford to say to the thousands of fans showering in the streaming confetti: “Iowa, this is for you!”,0,1238377.story